ESPR Sections

Representing Paediatric Sub-Specialties

As a part of the ESPR Council, the sections represent different Paediatric sub-specialties.

Headed by a dedicated and elected section secretaries, it is the sections' role:

  • to provide speakers/topics for ESPR conferences;
  • to publish research and guidelines related to their expertise;
  • to act as a discussion forum and incubator of ideas/initiatives for like-minded Paediatric professionals;
  • to organise annual gatherings at the ESRP congresses;
  • to mentor young investigators.

The ESPR sections are open to all members from the society with a relevant specialisation.

Currently the ESPR has eight sections, two of which—Nursing and other Healthcare Professionals & Infection, Inflammation and Immunology—were inaugurated recently during EAPS 2018.

  • Brain and Development

    Pierre Gressens, MD, PhD
    1st term
    October 2016 – October 2019

  • Circulation, Haematology and Oxygen Transport

    Willem de Boode, MD, PhD
    1st term
    October 2016 – October 2019

  • Epidemiology

    Tine Brink Henriksen, MD, PhD
    2nd term
    October 2016 - October 2019

  • Infection, Inflammation and Immunology

    Section Secretary to be elected. More soon.

  • Nursing and other Healthcare Professionals


    • providing education, developing guidelines and preparing position statements
    • offering high-quality contributions to conferences and meetings
    • supporting and coordinating research of society members in all fields of nursing and other health care professionals
    • working in a multi-disciplinary manner together with the other ESPR sections

    Way of working:

    This is achieved by encouraging exchange of ideas and discussions among members in research and education platforms in Europe and the ESPR.

    The section Nursing and other Healthcare Professionals has its own business meeting, which is held during the annual ESPR meeting.

    Decisions at the annual business meetings are made by simple majority of the members present.

    At the annual business meeting research projects and proposals for future congresses are discussed and worked on.

    Achievements for future research:

    • Family-centered care and family empowerment
    • Developmental care
    • Sleep and brain development
    • Pain & sedation
    • Safety and risk reduction in NICU
    • Surroundings & stress
    • Neonatal transport

    Section Secretary:

    Agnes van den Hogen, PhD
    1st term
    October 2018 - October 2021

  • Nutrition, Metabolism and Gastroenterology

    Alexandre Lapillonne, MD, PhD
    2nd term
    October 2016 - October 2019

  • Paediatric and Neonatal Pharmacology

    Sinno Simons, MD, PhD
    1st term
    October 2016 – October 2019

  • Pulmonology

    Anton H.L.C. van Kaam, MD, PhD
    1st term
    October 2017 – October 2020

  • European Board of Neonatology (EBN)

    Maximo Vento, MD, PhD

    Dominique Haumont, MD
    Officer of Neonatal Databases

    Tomasz Szczapa, MD, PhD
    Officer of Education and Training

Should you wish to contact one of the section secretaries, please send an email to The ESPR Secretariat will be happy to forward your request.