Science & Research | February 28th, 2022

International Consensus Survey on Less Invasive Surfactant Administration (LISA)

The International Collaborative for the Less Invasive Surfactant Administration (LISA) procedure invites you to participate in an international consensus survey aiming to establish expert consensus on:

  1. Content to be included in a curriculum for learning the LISA procedure.
  2. Content to be included in an assessment tool for the evaluation of LISA performance.

You can participate as an expert if you currently or previously have been involved in 1) LISA research or 2) planning or implementation of education in the LISA procedure or 3) teaching LISA (including bed-side supervision of colleagues).

The entire survey consists of three rounds of iterative online questionnaires (app. 20-30 minutes required to complete each questionnaire). The links to the questionnaires will be sent to you via email. All answers will be handled confidentially. A steering committee has been assigned to manage all data processes. You will receive the final curriculum and assessment tool once they are ready for implementation.

If you have any questions, please contact

To read more about the study and participate in the first round, please click on the following link:

If you accept the invitation, please complete the survey before 27 March 2022.

We are grateful for your participation and your commitment to promote educational excellence and patient safety in neonatal intensive care. If you wish, we will acknowledge you in the manuscript. However, unfortunately we cannot offer authorship to experts.

With kind regards,

The International Collaborative for the LISA procedure

Niklas Breindahl (Denmark), Lise Aunsholt (Denmark), Charles Roehr (United Kingdom), Tomasz Szczapa (Poland), Luigi Gagliardi (Italy), Maximo Vento (Spain), Ragnhild Støen (Norway), Kajsa Bohlin (Sweden), Anton Van Kaam (Netherlands), Tongyan Han (China), Anup Katheria (USA), Peter Dargaville (Tasmania), Tine Brink Henriksen (Denmark), and Martin Tolsgaard (Denmark)